This year, the WILPF Australia National PeaceWomen Awards proudly acknowledges and honours five outstanding women who are each leading for peace in Australia and/or internationally in areas that WILPF values.

The PeaceWomen Awardees for 2024
  • For her work for Human Rights and Indigenous Australians, and for her co-leadership of advocacy for The Voice to Parliament Campaign: Pat Anderson AO, co-Chair of the Uluru Dialogue and human rights advocate and health administrator.
  • For her work for Human Rights and Indigenous Australians, and for her co-leadership of advocacy for The Voice to Parliament Campaign: Scientia Professor Megan Davis, UNSW Pro Vice-Chancellor, Balnaves Chair in Constitutional Law, and co-Chair of the Uluru Dialogue.
  • For her work for Women Peace and Security: Dr Alice Jill Edwards, UN Special Rapporteur on Torture and other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment.
  • For her work for the environment and against climate change: Dr Michelle Maloney, Co-Founder and Director of the Australian Earth Laws Alliance (AELA) and Future Dreaming.
  • For her work challenging militarism and advocating for the end of nuclear weapons: Dr Amanda Ruler, a National Vice President of the Medical Association for the Prevention of War (Australia).
  • Learn more about each Awardee in the WILPF Australia National PeaceWomen Awards 2024 booklet

Top photo: WILPF Australia National PeaceWomen Awardees from L-R: Megan Davis, Aunty Pat Anderson, Amanda Ruler and Michelle Maloney, with WILPF Australia President Margaret Reynolds. The fifth awardee, Alice Jill Edwards, received her award virtually from Europe where she is currently based. Photographer: Mike Henry.

The PWA Legacy

Connecting the awards to specific aspects of WILPF’s program has highlighted and also amplified WILPF’s vision, both for WILPF members and for the wider public.

For many PeaceWomen, their award has created a lasting connection with WILPF although many were not previously aware of WILPF.  Some have become and remain active members of WILPF.

Many previous awardees reference the WILPF Award in their CVs and some have become champions for WILPF locally and internationally. They report the difference that being acknowledged in this way has made in their careers.  Some have spoken about the importance of having their contribution honoured by feminist sisters, bringing a new lens to their work.

WILPF Australia National PeaceWomen Awards over the years

WILPF’s PeaceWomen Awards first began as a local Queensland branch project in 2010. The awards quickly proved their value, and in 2015, WILPF’s centenary year, they became a Section-wide event known as the WILPF Australia National PeaceWomen Awards that is now held on the eve of each Triennial Conference for our Section.

Awardees in previous years

2021 PeaceWomen Awards:
International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN) co-founder Dimity Hawkins and ICAN Australian Director Gem Romuld; lawyer and human rights advocate Jennifer Robinson; SEED co-founder and leader Amelia Telford; journalist and Human Right Watch researcher, Sophie McNeill; posthumous award to Tasmanian activist Audrey Moore; and an award to young emerging peacewoman, Esther Abiya.

2015 PeaceWomen Awardees:
Anti-nuclear campaigner, Helen Caldicott; activist and advocate for First Nations Peoples, Kirstie Parker; global expert on ending to end human trafficking, Dr Anne Gallagher; and director with the International Committee of the Red Cross, Dr Helen Durham.

The 2024 PeaceWomen Awards event

Above: This year, we were delighted to have the PeaceWomen Awards both online and in person for a full house at the Australian Red Cross Training Rooms, Brisbane. Thank you Red Cross! Photographer: Ben Fry.

The Welcome to Country was provided by Senior Yugera Elder Aunty Deb Sandy. The MC Claire Moore then introduced each PeaceWoman awardee who received her framed certificate from WILPF Australia President Margaret Reynolds and was invited to speak about her work and its importance to building peace.

Most of the awardees in this year and previously acknowledge the significant psychological value of being acknowledged and honoured in this way by other women.

Some have also spoken about the importance of having their contribution honoured by feminist sisters, bringing a new lens to their work.


The 2024 PeaceWomen Awards event was held on unceded Yagera Country. We acknowledge Elders past and present and emerging leaders.

Thanks also to: Australian Red Cross for their generous assistance, to Rose Yule for wonderful graphics, to many WILPF members for their contribution, and to all our Awardees and attendees for their support and enthusiastic celebration of the inspiring work of women leading for peace.


Uluṟu Statement leaders awarded Australia PeaceWomen Awards, Yolande Hutchinson, University of New South Wales, 17 May 2024

WILPF Australia PeaceWomen Award for human rights lawyer, Baillol College, University of Oxford, 24 May 2021

WILPF Australia Celebrates The Centenary of The Organisation, Janette McLeod, WILPF international website, 29 June 2015